In our own words: Lily Williams, Olympics postponement

In February, Lily Williams was on top of the world, winning the Women's Team Pursuit World Championships with her teammates. With the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, and the delay of the Olympic Games, Williams talks about what keeps her positive in these tough times.

We are living in extraordinary times, to borrow this month’s catchiest phrase. I think we can all say that life right now is challenging in an unprecedented way and everyone everywhere feels a bit out of control. I don’t think I need to run over the finer details of the COVID-19 pandemic and its effect on daily life here. But as a cyclist and athlete, my life has changed in substantial ways that are both unique and parallel to the general workforce and U.S. population.

I compete for a living. Well, to me it’s more than just a living. My existence is pretty tied in to sports. There are no competitions right now. The solitary goal of life has been preparing for the Olympics. And now the Olympics are postponed.

I’ve gone through four drafts of this article, having to re-write each time there is a radical change in future plans, which seems to happen every 25 minutes. I dread each email, news alert, and text, wondering what it will mean for my current living and work situation. With Tuesday’s Olympics postponement, at least we finally know something.

I think first and foremost on every potential Olympian’s mind is the health of the communities, spectators, and athletes that the Olympics will affect. Nobody wants to jeopardize anyone else. While we have all been working towards a 2020 Olympics for a long time, I have friends who have been in medical school for four years and now their rotations and residencies are put on hold indefinitely. People are out of work. People are getting sick. No one around the world can claim to be moving forward as normal. Given opportunity for a safe Olympics, all athletes want it to go on. But not in four months.